Mexico City Final Recap – 2012

from the plane

What an amazing trip!  What started as a mission trip where we are expected to do all we can for God and people, turned into a vision trip, in which we spent time with Father and did what we were told to do.  The question comes to mind, what produces more fruit, just doing, or listening and doing.  The Bible says that Jesus did whatever His Father told Him to do.  Was he one to seek out a bunch of random serving opportunities?  It is clear, that Jesus would retreat, He would rest, He would go off by Himself.  This was our model for the trip.

We were encouraged to listen and then to do.  We were encouraged to be with God, and not just robot doers of work.  Our trip included feeding hungry people, giving value to people that normal society would not value, prayer walking, talking to people, building relationships and being tourist.  It’s hard to describe exactly what I learned, except I feel like I was discipled to value community, especially when it involves food!

Being back a week, I find myself waking up to life as I knew it.  Work happens every day, church happens every weekend.  I miss Mexico City; I miss being with the team that I spent night and day with, especially Benjamin and our bed sleeping arrangement.  I miss the churos and hot chocolate; the tacos wore then after the fourth night!  I miss the crazy traffic and being the guy that doesn’t know Spanish.  It’s good to be home though.  As a group, we now have the opportunity to be the church to our community and congregation.  This leads into my last lesson.  If there is something you don’t like about your church, if there is something the church is not doing that you think it should be doing…then do it.   Don’t complain at what the church is not doing, but be the “solution”.

If you read this, may I encourage you to support Josh Harder as he serves Mexico City?  If you want to know how, message me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

